The Meaning of Life

life

The quest to understand the meaning of life has haunted humanity since the dawn of existence. Modern history alone has given us a plethora of attempted answers, including ones from Steve Jobs, Stanley Kubrick, David Foster Wallace and Jackson Pollock’s dad. Impressive right, too bad those are not my words, they are the words of Maria Popova a Bulgarian-born writer living in Brooklyn, New York.

A wise man once said that “all human activity is a form of play. And the highest form of play is the search for Truth, Beauty and Love. What more is needed? Should there be a ‘meaning’ as well, that will be a bonus? If we waste time looking for life’s meaning, we may have no time to live — or to play.”

Personally, I believe that we are on earth to learn, laugh and love. A day without learning something new to me is a day wasted, a day without letting out a honest lough (one of those that make you snort) is a day wasted, a day without love, love your God, love a person, love a dog, love even a car and your day won’t be wasted.

I had a smooth ride growing up but now that I’m all grown life has shown its true colors, luckily I have never had a sleepless night nor slept with an empty stomach. I’m glad that a that has never gone by without learning a new thing, I have never cried for more than 10 minutes because I always laugh no matter the situation, I thank God that it’s easy for me to love, I love how the grass is green, how the air is warm, I even love how my boss can’t say my name right.

In the words of Poet Charles Bukowski:

We are here to unlearn the teachings of the church, state and our educational system.

We are here to drink beer.

We are here to kill war.

We are here to laugh at the odds and live our lives so well that Death will tremble to take us.

We are here to read these words from all these wise men and women who will tell us that we are here for different reasons and the same reason.

Leave a comment